Enlisting Prayer Warriors

This time last year I was sending e-mails concerning the political crisis and violence that struck Kenya at the end of 2007. After many attempts at bringing the country to a peaceful resolution, finally the (now) president and the leader of the (then) supposed opposition agreed to meet and a coalition government was put in place. Not all the issues that brought the country to chaos have been resolved but the government continues to hammer out a new constitution and make some efforts to keep peace.

I would like to put out another request for prayer.
The Kenyan church is, I believe, fighting a spiritual war. Last Friday I had my 2nd car accident in 6 weeks — Just before Annual Conference on Nov. 24 I was hit by a matatu (mini-van taxi). I was not injured. The driver sped away, however, a policeman (along with many others) witnessed the accident and the policeman followed (in a taxi) and found the matatu driver and brought him back to the police station where I now sat waiting. (the accident happened in front of the police station). The owner was called and agreed to pay all the damages.
The 2nd accident happened this past Friday. This time my car was hit by a lorry whose driver had decided that he wanted to be where I was. My car was side-swiped and the driver left me. My car is now at the garage for repair and I am working with the insurance company to get it fixed. Again I was not hurt.

So this brings me to the wonderful time that I had with the Lord on Sunday. I was not able to get to church on Sunday because of my “crippled” car. I decided to listen to the music on my ipod and almost the first song that came on was “On my Knees” by Nicole C. Mullen — It struck me like never before and I listened to it several times and allowed the words to sink in. One line is particularly compelling, “I don’t know how, but there’s power — when I’m on my knees”.
Then the Lord drew my attention to a conversation that I had had with a pastor just the week before about the need for transformed Christian lives in his church. Two days before the accident I had received an e-mail about a man ( a journalist) who had grown up in Malawi and had recently made a return trip to Malawi. He is a proclaimed atheist but as he worked with an aid organization digging wells in Malawi he made a profound observation — “As an atheist, I truly believe Africa needs God … I’ve become convinced of the enormous contribution that Christian evangelism makes in Africa: sharply distinct from the work of secular NGOs, government projects and international aid efforts. These alone will not do. Education and training alone will not do. In Africa Christianity changes people’s hearts. It brings a spiritual transformation. The rebirth is real. The change is good.” (from timesonline.co.uk/matthew parris).

I have been concerned lately for the lack of purpose and desire to work together in the ministry of the Lord. Being a Christian seems to have become “institutionalized” — and being a leader in the church is cherished for the position itself, not as a responsibility to move the church ahead, but as an opportunity to exert authority over others and by assumption, to attain whatever benefit there might be, imagined or otherwise. In this I see that we are fighting a spiritual battle.
So, I was yet again struck by the idea of transformation and the Lord made 2 things clear to me 1) there is power when I am on my knees 2) there must be transformation in the hearts and lives of Kenyan Christians (not to mention myself).

I have set for myself to be the missionary described in the article by Matthew Parris that speaks forth a gospel that transforms and I want not only to proclaim this message but to live it. I have yet to learn what all this means, but I am willing and ready.
The Lord also made it clear to me that an army of prayer warriors needs to be raised up to pray that the church be transformed and mobilized to meet the challenge of God’s purpose for it here in Kenya.

I would like to have you join this army of prayer warriors and to enlist others to pray for the transformation of hearts and lives in the Kenya Free Methodist Church. I think it would be encouraging to know just how many will participate. I ask that these prayer warriors pray 15 minutes every day until mid-March (I don’t have a date yet) when the FMCK will be restructuring into 2 Annual conferences and a Provisional General Conference.

Feel free to contact me at dhogeboom@yahoo.com to enlist yourself as a prayer warrior or to ask questions.

And thanks so much.
Debbie

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

