2011 in Review

I suppose I had better write something on 2011 before 2012 really gets into full swing.  This time last year my computer had crashed and I then was hospitalized for 4 days.  The rest of January and into February was time for “catch up” and “hurry up and get stuff done” before going to Canada in mid-February.

I took a couple of weeks to acclimatize myself to the cold and snow and in March began visiting churches literally across Canada – one of the first places to visit was Montreal for a Youth Congress where I gave 2 sessions on missions and preached on Sunday morning.  I was thrilled when the youth choir from Quebec City sang in Kiswahili (a song that I knew) from Kenya.  On Sunday afternoon I tackled a subject with the Quebec pastors that was new for me – planting churches in Canada from a missionary perspective.  Discussion following the session was lively.

What a wonderful time to renew old acquaintances and to make new friends in the many churches that welcomed me.  The weeks flew by and I found that there were more invitations than I could accept.  A heartfelt thank you goes out to all the churches who have supported me in 2010-2011.

I am glad that my schedule now allows me to attend General Conference.  What a time of blessing to see so many people.  I felt that I had been at camp meeting, having opportunity to allow God to speak and call us to a higher level of service.  Some of the topics discussed (i.e. acts of piety and compassion) have worked their way into the Kenya Modular Bible School curriculum.

In June I visited a college friend in Michigan and we were joined by another for a girls’ weekend in Frankenmuth – that was fun!

My Dad became ill during Wesley Acres I Camp and was hospitalized in the Picton Hospital until a bed could be found for him in rehab in Belleville.  My Dad is a feisty man and would not settle to stay in the hospital.  He embarked with zeal all the therapy given him and before I returned to Kenya in August, he was released to go home.  I was so glad to be in Canada during this time so that I could be with Dad.

Before leaving for Kenya I spoke at 3 camps – Maple Grove, Wesley Acres and Pine Orchard.  These were also times of spiritual refreshment. My last Sunday in Canada I attended my home church, Whitby, along with my 2 sisters and their husbands and 2 nieces.  They participated with me in a special prayer for us as they would accompany me back to Kenya in just a few days.

Image

in honor of our mother and dad

We were 12 as we landed in Nairobi, Kenya on August 12.  They had the opportunity to experience “my world” first hand and how fun to see Kenya from their perspective.  What had become “ordinary” to me came to life in new ways.

I enjoyed teaching 2 courses:Disicpleship and Membership Training  and Pastoral Theology in the December Bible School session in Kericho.  Then we were off to the extension school in Jinja, Uganda for the graduation of 3 students.

Graduates, teachers with Bishop and Mrs. Dingili

Work continues on the Bible School property and we hope to be operational enough to hold the April Bible School session at the Eldoret location.

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2011 in Review

  1. Donna Elford says:

    Debbie,
    Thanks for your update and for including the pictures. We were thrilled that your schedule allowed you to be in Ontario for General Conference and summer camps. Keith and I regularly pray for you and your teaching ministry. God’s richest blessings on you as you begin 2012.
    Donna Elford

  2. Debbie says:

    Thanks Donna for your prayer support. God is faithful – I know from experiencing his ever present Spirit with me. I know, otherwise I would not be here.

Leave a Reply

