“… the desires of your heart …”

     As a 6 year-old, I was thrilled to start school.  My grade one teacher, Mrs. Knox, made a profound impact on me.  Because of her,  I wanted to become  a teacher. Everyday, I would get home from school and with chalk in hand stand in front of the black board my dad had made and with younger siblings lined up facing the board, I would teach them what I had learned in school. While other children would change their career choice every time they were asked what they wanted to be when they grew up, my heart was set on being a teacher and it never wavered.

As I was growing up, my path crossed with many missionaries – at church and at camps.  A missions trip to Haiti when I was in grade 13 reinforced what I understood to be a call on my life to be a missionary.

During my college and post graduate studies, I was encouraged by church leaders to serve and be ordained as a pastor.  God continued to use the ministries that I had embraced and the individuals with whom I worked to work toward ordination and pastoral service with an emphasis on Christian education.

Now jump ahead a few years — In 1984, I began my missionary career in DRC (formerly Zaire).  At that point in my life, while I had served as pastor and teacher, the call to missionary service was actualized.  I began to think of how God had met the desires of my heart, “delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart” (Psalm 37:4)  My understanding of this Scripture is that when our desire is God’s desire, he will grant that desire.  The key is knowing what is God’s desire for us.  Jesus said the same thing when he said, “Seek first the Kingdom of God and all these things shall be added unto you.”

Preaching and teaching opportunities

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Above: South Rift District Free Methodist Youth Camp at Londiani (Campers, quizzing and District youth leader (a former student)

Kenya Highlands University

Among the former students that I work with are 3 lecturers, one administrator, and one chaplain.  (I could never get everyone together for a picture so I am starting with the 2 that were around for the picture).

I am so blessed -I have been given the desires of my heart!  How privileged and humbled I feel to teach alongside former students in the very institution where I began in 1994.

 

This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “… the desires of your heart …”

  1. Lois M. Huff says:

    What a beautiful testimony, Debbie. God bless you and those special ones you taught and now serve with you!

  2. Nixon Dingili says:

    May the Lord continue to use you influence society positively. May He grant you favor, good health and a willing spirit to follow in His steps.

  3. Clara Rice says:

    God surely does give us the desires of our heart when we follow Him wholeheartedly. May He continue to bless and use you. Clara Rice

Leave a Reply

